Home » Golf

Event #1: Bank of America Open

29 May 2008 No Comment

In a cold and rainy afternoon (who said golfers don’t play in rain?), Marc Leishman, hit a ball that bounced off the top of the grandstand surrounding the 18th green. The ball ricocheted behind the grandstand. Since the grandstand was an obstruction in between the lie of the ball and the 18th hole, the rules judge acted under the “temporary immovable obstruction rule.”

Under the rule, Leishman was allowed to take “line of sight relief” from the bleachers. Meaning he could move the ball to the first spot that would allow him a direct line from his ball to the hole (but the ball could be no closer to the hole than where the ball originally landed). Next, he could make a drop in between 1 and 2 club lengths from the new spot without a penalty stroke. Since the first drop landed too close to the cart path, Leishman was allowed to take a second drop which enabled him to hit a nice chip for his 3rd shot.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.